Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

ODAC Champions! WildCat Equestrian Claims Conference Title

ODAC Championship winning Equestrian Team
Head Coach Chris Mitchell poses with the ODAC Championship Trophy along with assistant coach Lauryn Tannenhaus and Randolph's riders.

SWEET BRIAR, Va.- Four members of the Randolph Equestrian team competed in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Championships hosted by Lynchburg College on Friday afternoon at the Harriet Rogers Riding Center on Sweet Briar's campus. The quartet was able to ride the WildCats to the conference title.

This is Randolph's fourth ODAC Championship in Equestrian and first since 2005. It is the school's first overall conference championship since the men's soccer team won it in 2011.

The four riders who competed were Carly Stirewalt, Kirby Tidmore (Nashville, Tenn.), Molly McLaughlin (Owings, Md.) and Caroline Houston (Glastonbury, Conn.). All four earned All-Conference honors. McLaughlin was fourth overall, Tidmore sixth, and Houston and Stirewalt both 10th.

There were two jumping rounds and an on the flat final round. Randolph started off well with a first place showing in the first class to pick up seven points. A second place result in the second class added five points for the 'Cats. The WildCats were fourth in the third class but garnered three points for the victory.

In addition, head coach Chris Mitchell was named the ODAC Coach of the Year. This is his first such honor.

Next for Randolph are the IHSA Zone Finals on April 7. It is hosted by Virginia Tech.


Final Team Results

1. Randolph -- 15 points

2. Sweet Briar (via tiebreaker) -- 13 points

3. Hollins -- 13 points

4. Washington and Lee (via tiebreaker) -- 9 points

5. Lynchburg -- 9 points

6. Bridgewater -- 7 points


All-ODAC Team (tie for the 10th spot means 11 members)

1. Lily Peterson, SBC -- 83.250

2. Christina Antonucci, LC -- 82.50

3. Charlotte Radcliffe, W&L -- 82.375

4. Molly McLaughlin, RAND -- 82.250

5. Jane Chiavelli, W&L -- 82.1875

6. Kirby Tidmore, RAND -- 81.500

7. Samantha Van Winter, BC -- 79.375

8. Makayla Benjamin, SBC -- 78.250

9. Madi Szurley, HU -- 77.750

10. Caroline Houston, RAND -- 77.250

10. Carley Stirewalt, RAND -- 77.250


Chris Mitchell and ODAC Trophy

Head Coach Chris Mitchell was named the 

ODAC Coach of the Year